Almarai News

Announcement for the Almarai Award for Scientific Innovation

Following the announcement of the names, the Chairman of the High Board, Dr. Muhammad bin Ibrahim Al Suwayl, congratulated the recipient scientists and praised the role of the judges. He went on to express his hope that the Award will push researchers and scientists towards discoveries that support progress in all of its forms.
Dr. Hisham Taha Al Dassouqi won the Award for Exceptional Scientist in Hydrology, Dr. Omar bin Marzouq Al Dawsari and his research team won the Award for Innovative Work in Nanotechnology, Dr. Ibrahim bin Muhammad Aref and his research team
won the Award for Innovative Work in Desertification, Dr. Afnan bint Abdulwahhab Mashat and her team won the Women’ Award for Scientific Research in Pharmacy, and the National Electronics, Telecommunications, and
Photonics Center in the King Abdulaziz City for Science and Technology won the Award for Research Units in Telecommunications
and Information Technology.
The Board approved awards in the following fields of study for the thirteenth year – 1434/1435 AH (2013 AD): The Award for Exceptional Scientist in Energy Conservation, the Award for Innovative Work in Solar Energy and Industrial Engineering, the Women’ Award for Scientific Research in Disability Studies, and the Award for Research Units in Environmental Studies.
It should be noted that the Almarai Award for Scientific Innovation was started in 2001 in cooperation with the King Abdulaziz City for Science and Technology. The Award is intended to sponsor scientific innovation as well as scientists, researchers, and science itself in basic, applied, and development sciences within the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.