Almarai News

In its 18th Session, Supreme Council announces Almarai Prize winners

On Wednesday March 13th, 2019, the Supreme Council of Almarai Prize for Scientific Excellence ended its 18th Annual Meeting at King Abdulaziz City for Science and Technology “KACST” in Riyadh.

Dr. Anas Fares Al-Fares, KACST Vice President, chaired the meeting. HH Prince Naif bin Sultan bin Mohamed bin Saud Al-Kabir, Board Member of Almarai, Supreme Council  members, and  Prize Secretary General attended the meeting.

In the meeting, winners of the branches of Almarai Prize for Scientific Excellence in its eighteenth year were announced. Prizes include Outstanding Scientist Prize, Innovative Work Prize (Men, women, students), and Research Unit Prize:

Branch 1: Outstanding Scientist, awarded in two-halves:

Dr. Ahmed Mohamed Omar, Najran University

Dr. Fawzan Sami Alkurea, King Faisal Specialist Hospital

Branch II: Innovative Work Prize (Men, Women, Students)

Prize was withheld due to lack of scientifically meritorious nominations

Branch III: Innovative work prize – promotional for students

Bachelor Level:

  1. Shaymaa Khalid Almalki, King Abdulaziz University
  2. Ali Humaid Farea, Taiba University
  3. Mohamed Mezyad Almoteiri, Saudi Aramco

Masters Level:

  1. Nabata Mubarak Al-Abdullatif, Imam Abdulrahman bin Faisal University
  2. Mashael Abdulrahman Al-Lehaibi, Taiba University

Ph. D. Level:

  1. Mohamed Zarin Ibrahim, King Fahad University for Petroleum and Minerals

Branch IV: Prize of research unit

Award was equally split between SABIC R & D Center in KAUST and Palm and Dates Research Excellence Center, King Faisal University.

At the end of the meeting, the Supreme Council of Almarai Prize for Scientific Excellence extended congratulations to all the winners of the prize in its 18th year, praying to Allah to be an incentive and drive to further effort and innovation in their academic and practical lives.

The Council also thanked the Prize Secretariat, working teams, referees, scientists, and candidate researchers.